RECA Announces 2011-2012 Chair and Chair Elect

Calgary, Alberta – The Real Estate Council of Alberta (RECA) is pleased to announce the selection of Wayne McAlister as Chair of Council and Bill Buterman as Chair Elect.

Mr. McAlister is an associate broker with Re/Max Landan Real Estate in Calgary. He was nominated by the Calgary Real Estate Board and appointed to Council by the Alberta Real Estate Association. Mr. McAlister was appointed to Council in 2007 and began his second three-year term in 2010. He entered the real estate industry in 1978 and went on to become President of the Calgary Real Estate Board in 1995 and President of the Calgary Real Estate Board Charitable Foundation in 2004. In 2005 he received the Calgary Real Estate Board's T.W.H. Saunders Award for dedication to the real estate industry and the community.

Mr. Buterman is a founding partner of Axcess Capital Advisors and mortgage broker with Axcess Capital Partners in Calgary. He has been a member of Council since November 2009, and was appointed by Council members (excluding the member appointed by the Minister of Service Alberta). He represents industry professionals who are not members of the Alberta Real Estate Association. Mr. Buterman has been directly involved in Alberta’s real estate industry since 1980, and is a past lecturer and course developer in finance, real estate finance and credit at the several universities. More recently, he was a member of RECA’s special subcommittee on Syndicated Mortgages and chair of the Audit committee.

Mr. McAlister and Mr. Buterman will serve in these positions for a one-year term, ending on October 31, 2012.

The Real Estate Council of Alberta (RECA) is an independent, non-government agency, responsible for regulating real estate, mortgage broker, and real estate appraisal industry professionals under Alberta’s Real Estate Act. RECA is mandated to protect consumers and to provide services that enhance and improve the industry and the business of industry members.