Residential Real Estate Advisory Committee

Terms of Reference

Industry Sector Advisory Committee

Two council members - one council member who will be the committee chair and is a real estate broker or associate trading in residential real estate; one council member who will be committee vice chair and is from an industry sector other than residential real estate or is a public member
Six industry members whose main area of practice is residential real estate
One member of the public – the Chair of RECA will have the discretion to appoint a member of the public to this committee
Two members appointed by the Alberta Real Estate Association (AREA) who are industry members and sit on the AREA Board of Directors during their appointment

Ex Officio Members
Ex-officio members of the committee are the RECA Chair and Executive Director

RECA Resources - Director of Professional Standards
Industry Resources - The committee may invite an individual who is with an industry association or real estate board to provide input or to assist with the work of the committee on a specific issue or project basis.

The mandate of this committee is to provide advice to council on regulatory issues in the residential real estate sector. The tasks of the committee are:

The establishment of this committee does not affect the responsibility of the Executive Director to provide information, advice and recommendations upon his or her own initiative, or upon the request of council, on matters before Council affecting the regulation of the residential real estate industry.

November 1st – October 31st; appointment of individuals to this committee, other than the AREA appointees, will be made by the Chair of Council;  an individual other than a member of Council, can serve up to three two-year terms.

2017-2018 Residential Real Estate Advisory Committee Members    
  Stan Mills, Committee Chair    
  Phil McDowell, Vice Chair    
  Robert Jablonski (AREA Director)    
  D'Arcy Donald (AREA Director)    
  Dustin Henfrey (Industry Member)    
  Susan Rochefort (Industry Member)    
  Tom Shearer (Industry Member)    
  Geneva Tetreault (Industry Member)    
  Colleen Wetter (Public Member) (Industry Member)    
  Vacant (Industry Member)    
  Vacant (Industry Member)    
  Ex Officio    
  Brian Klingspon, RECA Chair    
  Bob Myroniuk, RECA Executive Director    
  Charles Stevenson, Director, Professional Standards