Mortgage Brokers Advisory Committee

Terms of Reference

Industry Sector Advisory Committee

Two council members - one council member appointed by the Alberta Mortgage Broker Association (AMBA) who will be committee chair, and one council member who will be committee vice chair and is from an industry sector other than mortgage brokerage.
Three industry members authorized to deal in mortgages, specifically the president and two directors of AMBA.
One industry member authorized to deal in mortgages, appointed by the Chair of RECA, who is not a member of AMBA
One member of the public – the Chair of RECA will have the discretion to appoint a member of the public to this committee

Additional industry members may be appointed by the Chair of RECA

Ex Officio Members:
Ex-officio members of the committee are the RECA Chair and Executive Director

RECA Resources - Deputy Executive Director
Industry Resources - Executive Director of AMBA

The mandate of this committee is to provide advice to council on regulatory issues in the mortgage brokerage sector. The tasks of the committee are:

The establishment of this committee does not affect the responsibility of the Executive Director to provide information, advice and recommendations upon his or her own initiative, or upon the request of council, on matters before council affecting the regulation of the mortgage brokerage industry.


November 1st – October 31st; appointment of individuals to this committee, other than the AMBA appointees, will be made by the Chair of Council;  an individual other than a member of Council, can serve up to three two-year terms.

2017-2018 Mortgage Brokers Advisory Committee Members    
  Phil McDowell, Committee Chair    
  Bill Kirk, Vice Chair    
  Mike Havery (Industry Member)    
  Nolan Matthias (non- AMBA Industry Member)    
  Adil Mawji (AMBA)    
  Katie McDowell (AMBA)    
  Laurel Williamson (Public Member)    
  Vacant (Industry Mmember)    
  Vacant (Industry Member)    
  Ex Officio    
  Brian Klingspon, RECA Chair    
  Bob Myroniuk, RECA Executive Director    

Charles Stevenson, Director, Professional Standards


Gary Siegle, Mortgage Broker Practice Advisor


Amanda Roy, AMBA General Manager