Real Estate Appraisers’ Advisory Committee

Terms of Reference

April 2018

Industry Sector Advisory Committee


  • two (2) Council members – one (1) Council member will be the real estate appraiser appointed to Council in accordance with section 6(1)(f)(i) of the Real Estate Act and shall be committee chair; and one (1) Council member, who is not an appraiser, who will be committee vice chair
  • two (2) real estate appraisers in Alberta appointed by the Appraisal Institute of Canada (Alberta)
  • two (2) real estate appraisers in Alberta appointed by the Canadian National Association of Real Estate Appraisers
  • two (2) real estate appraisers in Alberta appointed by the Alberta Assessors’ Association
  • one (1) member of the public – the Chair of RECA will have the discretion to appoint a member of the public to this committee
  • additional members may be appointed by the Chair of RECA

Ex Officio Members
Ex-officio and non-voting members of the committee are the RECA Chair and executive director.

RECA Resources – The executive director will appoint one or more staff members to serve as staff resources to the committee.
Industry Resources – executive directors of the three associations and associations’ project volunteers

The mandate of this committee is to provide advice to Council on regulatory issues in the real estate appraisal sector. The tasks of the committee are:

  • to identify, research and discuss emerging issues related to the real estate appraisal sector affecting industry members and consumers
  • to make recommendations to Council with respect to its responsibilities under the Real Estate Act related to the real estate appraisal sector; topic areas include the Real Estate Act and Rules, licensing and education standards, standards of conduct, industry practices, accounting and reporting requirements
  • at the request of Council, the committee may be assigned specific projects which could include issues research, preparation of discussion papers, consultations or development of specific recommendations for Council’s review and consideration
  • to meet at least once a year; however, it being understood meetings of sub-committees may be held to assist the committee in achieving its mandate.


November 1st – October 31st; appointments of individuals to this committee, other than the association appointees, will be made by the Chair of Council; an individual, other than a member of Council, can serve up to three two-year terms

2017-2018 Real Estate Appraisers Advisory Committee Members
  • Robert Telford, Committee Chair
  • Bobbi Dawson, Vice Chair
  • Randy Stegemann (CNAREA)
  • Dena Knopp (AIC)
  • Angel Svennes (AAA)
  • Verle Blazek (AAA)
  • John Farmer (AIC)
  • Carlee Leliuk (CNAREA)
  • Vacant (Public Member)

Ex Officio

  • Brian Klingspon, RECA Chair
  • Bob Myroniuk, RECA Executive Director

More Info: