Governance Committee

Terms of Reference

April 2018

Standing Committee


  • Past Chair of Council*
  • Chair Elect of Council
  • Three (3) members of Council
  • One (1) non-Council member with experience in governance

In the event the past chair is not serving on Council, the current chair of Council may appoint one (1) past chair of Council whose term expired within the last five (5) years

Four members of the committee, one of whom must be the committee chair or vice-chair.

Ex Officio Members 
Chair of Council (voting member)
Executive Director (non-voting member)

The mandate of this committee is to provide advice and recommendations to Council regarding:

  • development and evaluation of Council, its committees and members
  • Council/executive director relationship
  • succession planning and Council member orientation
  • strategic thinking/planning
  • transparency and accountability
  • community/stakeholder engagement
  • oversight of the organization
  • ethics and code of conduct
  • other governance issues

RECA Resources – The executive director will appoint one or more staff members to serve as staff resources to the committee.

The committee may establish sub-committees to undertake specific tasks and may request other members of Council to serve on such sub-committees.

With the approval of Council, the committee may secure the services of outside resources to assist in undertaking specific tasks.

November 1st – October 31st; the Chair of Council will make the appointment of members to this committee.

2017-2018 Governance Committee Members
  • Christine Zwozdesky, Committee Chair
  • Bonny Clarke, Vice Chair
  • Krista Bolton
  • Phil McDowell
  • Matthew Peron
  • Robert Telford

Ex Officio

  • Brian Klingspon, RECA Chair
  • Bob Myroniuk, RECA Executive Director

More Info: